vom 29.12.2020 20:51
J. M.


Hey, habt ihr Verbesserungvorschläge für meinen Gastfamilienbrief?😅 (auch vom Inhalt her)

Dear future host family,
at first I would like to thank you for taking the time to read my letter and thinking about choosing me to be a part of your family for ten months. I hope this letter will give you a good first impression of me and my life and I am really excited to get to know you.
My name is Julia, I am 15 years old and I live in xxx in Germany. Together with my parents I live in house and I also have two siblings which already moved out since they are already 24 and 28 years old. My brother only lives a few minutes away from me and my sister unfortunately a few hours away but I still get to see her almost every month and we all have a really good relationship. I really love my family, I think they are all very funny and we joke around a lot. Sometimes my parents and I go for a walk or watch a film together and my mother and I really enjoy playing card games together and maybe I could show you some card games if you would like to. My grandparents and my aunt live right next to me which is really cool since family is really important to me and this way I get to see them often.
I am currently in the tenth grade in school and to be honest I don't really have a favorite subject but I like french and english better than for exapmle art and I also think the subjects history and politics are really interesting. In Germany we can't choose subjects ourselves and there isn't really a variety of subjects so I am really looking forward to go to an american high school where I can choose subjects myself and maybe even try out subjects I never had before.
In my free time I like to play volleyball which I started playing two years ago and I have practice three times a week and sometimes games at the weekend. I really love it and it is always much fun and after a game day my teammates and I often order pizza and hang out. I always feel good after doing sport so I also try to workout at home or go running and sometimes that works very well but there are also times where I don't do any sport at home at all but I am trying to improve that haha. I think it would be cool to continue playing Volleyball in the US but I am also looking forward to try out new things like track and field or cross country.
I also enjoy reading and love spending time with my friends which are very important to me. We like to go to the cinema or the next bigger city to go shopping and often we just walk around outside and talk. My best friend and I also bake sometimes, especially together it is a lot of fun, and we also like to watch movies together at home. I think with the right people you can enjoy everything you do together.
I am a really open-minded and adventurous person and like to travel, explore new countries and get to know other cultures and I think you could say I grew up with two cultures since my parents originially come from Russia and moved to Germany 27 years ago. I am a ambitious and helpful person and always try to see the good in people and I laugh and talk a lot but also really love having deep conversations and listening to other people and hearing about their thoughts. I have to admit that my room is often messy but I am trying to change that and of course I will give my best to keep my room tidy in the US. Outside my own room I help a lot around the house, for me it is no question to help, sometimes I am hanging up the laundry, cleaning out the dishwasher, vacuuming, dusting etc.
After my exchange year I want to finish school and probably travel for a year after that. I don't know yet what I would like to study afterwards but I think I still have enough time to figure that out and I want to move to a bigger city.
You might wonder why I want to make an exchange year and the reason is that I am just fascinated by the idea of living the "American way of life" for one year, getting to know a new culture, going to an american high school and making new friends, celeberating american holidays and especially hopefully finding a second home. Of course it is also great to improve my english since I really like the language but I also think it is really gonna help me to grow as a person and I can't wait until this adventure starts.
Thank you for reading this letter, I am very thankful that I might become a part of your family and really appreciate it. I also hope that I can give you something back, for example by telling you something about the german culture and cooking some typical german or russian dishes.
I am looking forward to meet you!
Yours sincerely,

J. M.
X Schließen